How to Hide your Online Status in WhatsApp

Whatsapp is a popular messaging app we all use today. Gone are the days when we used SMS to chat with friends and family. With the WhatsApp service, communication has been made much simpler and transparent. However, transparency comes at the cost of privacy. If you are a Whatsapp user, you know that, by default, WhatsApp displays your friends about your online activity like when you were last online, or whether you are currently online. 

Unfortunately, the transparency has harnessed lots of privacy implications over whether you are currently online, the messages are seen etc. If you are concerned about your online privacy, Whatsapp lets you hide your online status. By setting restrictions, you can limit the online status visibility to only your Whatsapp contacts or can completely hide your online status from everyone.  In this article, we explain how to hide your online status on Whatsapp.

How to hide your Online Status on Whatsapp

You can set restrictions to online status by allowing only contacts to view your status or can completely hide your online status from everyone. Here is how to do it. 

  • On your iPhone or Android, launch Whatsapp.
  • Go to Settings at the bottom of the main screen.
  • Under Settings, Tap Account 
  • Now select Privacy in the Account page.
  • Tap on Last Seen option to change the Online Status.
  • Here you can set the Online Status to either My Contacts or select it to Nobody.
  • If you select My contacts, your Whatsapp online status will be visible to only those WhatsApp contacts in your address book. If you select Nobody, your WhatsApp online status will be hidden from all. 
  • Note that once you have hidden your Last seen status from other, you won’t be able to view the online status of other Whatsapp contacts.

Apart from hiding your online status, Whatsapp lets you hide the visibility of your Whatsapp status, profile picture as well as set restrictions to the visibility of your about page. The only stipulation with restricting your online activity is that you have to trade off viewing the online activity of other contacts.  

How to hide your profile photo and status on WhatsApp

  • On your iPhone or Android, go to Settings at the bottom of the screen.
  • Tap Account and go to Privacy under the Account section.
  • Tap Profile Photo option to change visibility.
  • Here you can set the Profile Photo to either My Contacts or select it to Nobody.
  • If you select My contacts, your Whatsapp profile photo will be visible to only those WhatsApp contacts in your address book. If you select Nobody, your WhatsApp profile photo will be hidden from all. 
  • To set restrictions to the visibility of About page, tap About under Account section.
  • Here you can set the status to either My Contacts or select it to Nobody.
  • If you select My contacts, your Whatsapp about status will be visible to only those WhatsApp contacts in your address book. If you select Nobody, your about page will be hidden from all. 
  • To set restrictions to the visibility of WhatsApp status, tap Status under the Account section.
  • Here you can set the status to one of the three options. That is My Contacts, My Contacts Except or Only Share With. Choose My Contacts if you want to share status with all your contacts, choose  My Contact Except and select the WhatsApp contacts from address book if you want to share status with your contacts except people you select. Choose Only Share With and select WhatsApp contacts from the address book if you want to share status only with selected friends.
  • Note that the changes to your privacy settings won’t affect status updates that you have sent already.
  • If you don’t want others to view read receipts, you have the option to turn them off. Doing this will not let you see read receipts from other people. However,read receipts are sent for group chats To enable this go to Settings > Accounts > Privacy > Read Receipts. Toggle the switch off next to the option Read receipts.

That’s all there is to it. Did this article help ? Write to us in the comments below. 

Recent Articles

How To Check Whether Someone Blocked You On Instagram

All social media platforms including Instagram do not notify people when they get blocked by a user. But when someone’s post and...

Free Apps Make Money through These Innovative Ways

Have you always wondered why are some apps available to you free of cost? If you want to know how apps make...

How To Completely Remove Google Account From Chrome Browser

Google Chrome when used with your personal Google account lets you keep the data in sync with all your devices. Your YouTube...

How To Know If Your Android Smartphone Is Hacked And How To Fix It!

One of the worst nightmares you can ever witness is realizing that your Android Smartphone Is Hacked. Yes, you're allowed to be...

How to Fix Google Drive Not Downloading Files After Zipping

Google Drive is one of the most convenient and easy-to-use file storage services. It allows us to store or host files online,...

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here