Instagram Screenshot Notification:How does it work?

Instagram is a popular social networking app we all use today. The platform has an abundance of content being shared every moment. With so many interesting contents around you, there are a handful of good reasons to save some interesting contents so as to share with your friends or view them later. But will the Instagram send notification alert to people if you take a screenshot of post, story or a DM?  Whenever you come across a captivating content you may wish to take a screenshot so that you can save them to view later or share with others. But it is a good practice to know the Instagram privacy policies and be sensible of others privacy especially if you are capturing a screenshot of their personal posts. 

Capturing a screenshot is quite useful when you want to save the content of Instagram stories which would disappear after 24 hours. Or, you may wish to save some useful pictures or videos in order to avoid scrolling through a vast number of posts when you want to see them again. There are several reasons which tempt you to take a screenshot on Instagram. In most cases, Instagram doesn’t notify people when you capture a screenshot however there are some exceptions which we have explained below. 

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Post?

The Instagram doesn’t send notification alert to users when you take a screenshot of a post appearing on your home feed. If you find any interesting photos or videos on the home feed,  you can capture the screenshot with whole anonymity. Also, Instagram doesn’t notify its users if you screen records an interesting video which you wish to share with others. In this case, it is worth mentioning that Instagram has a bookmark feature which lets you save interesting posts you come across on the home feed instead of downloading it locally to your phone. You can flag the photos and videos to view them later. Additionally, you can group the saved posts into separate categories for your convenience. 

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A Story?

Instagram doesn’t send notification alert to users when you take a screenshot of a story. Posts on the Instagram stories disappear after 24 hours. In such a case, it will be useful to capture a screenshot of the useful content to view them later or share with others. However, earlier users could see who took a screenshot of their stories but later Instagram dropped this experimental feature. If you don’t want to take any risk, keep a close eye on future update incase the feature is revoked.

Meanwhile, you can check for other methods to take a screenshot without letting the user know. You can take a photo of the story from a camera of a different device or use an Airplane mode to take a screenshot of a story. To use Airplane mode, open the Instagram app and wait for the stories to load. Now turn on the Airplane mode and open the story from the app. Take a screenshot and then force quit the Instagram app. 

Does Instagram Notify When You Screenshot A DM?

Instagram sends the alert message to the user if anyone took a screenshot of private conversions. However, this alert feature is applicable only for disappearing messages. You can take a screenshot of the entire chat or regular messages without letting them know. 

Does Instagram send notification alert if you screen record video?

Instagram doesn’t notify people if you screen record videos in Instagram stories, posts and DMs. So if you come across interesting posts, you can capture a screen record and then take a screenshot of the video file later to share with others. However, as mentioned earlier you should be mindful of the sender’s privacy before taking a screenshot or screen record content sent in private. 

For more tips, check out How to disconnect Facebook from your Instagram account.

Recent Articles

How to Add Tabs to WordPress Posts and Pages

Tabs effectively organizes the content and engages the user. You can divide your posts into tabs in order to save space and...

How To Check Whether Someone Blocked You On Instagram

All social media platforms including Instagram do not notify people when they get blocked by a user. But when someone’s post and...

Free Apps Make Money through These Innovative Ways

Have you always wondered why are some apps available to you free of cost? If you want to know how apps make...

How To Completely Remove Google Account From Chrome Browser

Google Chrome when used with your personal Google account lets you keep the data in sync with all your devices. Your YouTube...

How To Know If Your Android Smartphone Is Hacked And How To Fix It!

One of the worst nightmares you can ever witness is realizing that your Android Smartphone Is Hacked. Yes, you're allowed to be...

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here